Don’t Forget the Marriage License
To obtain a Marriage License in Florida, most couples go together in person to a Clerk of Court office in any county. Bring a picture ID such as a driver’s license, state ID card, or valid passport and both parties will also have to provide their Social Security numbers, but do not need to provide Social Security Cards. Fees vary by County – in Sarasota, Manatee the cost of the license is $86 (+ 3.5% if by debit/credit card).
Florida marriage licenses are valid for 60 days from the effective date. The marriage ceremony must be performed between the effective date and the expiration date on the license. Out-of-State Residents are able to apply and have their ceremony performed the same day as the 3-day waiting period for those residing in Florida Law does not apply.
For couples who cannot or do not want to go in person to apply for the marriage license, we offer a Marriage License by Mail service for an extra fee. This process must begin at least 60 days before the wedding. Call or text us at 941.356.3492 to find out more.