Don’t Forget the Marriage License
To obtain a Marriage License in Florida, most couples go together in person to a Clerk of Court office in any county. Bring a picture ID such as a driver’s license, state ID card, or valid passport and both parties will also have to provide their Social Security numbers, but do not need to provide Social Security Cards. Fees vary by County – in Sarasota and Manatee counties, the cost of the license is $86 (+ 3.5% if by debit/credit card).
Florida marriage licenses are valid for 60 days from the effective date. The marriage ceremony must be performed between the effective date and the expiration date on the license. Out-of-State or out of the country residents are able to apply and have their ceremony performed the same day as the 3-day waiting period for those residing in Florida Law does not apply.
For couples who cannot or do not want to go in person to apply for the marriage license, we offer a Marriage License via Mail option. We apply for hte license for you and have your license waiting for you in Florida when you arrive. The fee is $195 if you start the process more than 30 days before the wedding or $245 if the wedding is in 14-30 days. Skip the trip to the courthouse by texting or calling 941.356.3492 to find out more and get started. You can also contact us here.